Our Solar System

Our solar system is primarily based on the Sun and the eight planets or objects that revolve around the Sun. The word Solar is derived from the Latin word Sol which means Sun hence, it is termed as Solar System. The Sun is actually a huge star and all the planets revolve around it because of the exertion of gravitational force. The solar system is also comprised of different satellites of the planets, meteors, comets, etc.

The Sun is approximately 109 times bigger than Earth and is a huge ball of gases which makes it a star as it radiates energy at exorbitant rates. It is roughly of spherical shape with consisting of hot plasma and magnetic fields. Three quarters of the Sun consists of Hydrogen gas while the rest of it is Helium. The sun was formed around 4.6 billion years ago with the Bing Bang chiefly responsible for the whole process. Our entire solar system also formed around the same time.

Apart from our planet Earth, there are seven more planets which are present in the solar system and are named Mercury, Venus, Mars, Uranus, Jupiter, Saturn and Neptune. The Jupiter is the largest among all of them and Mercury is considered as the smallest one. Mercury is also the hottest planet because it is situated nearest to the Sun in distance while Neptune is the coldest because it is far away from the Sun.

There was another member in the list of planets orbiting the Sun named Pluto. Now a dwarf planet, Pluto was also considered a planet alongside the above mentioned 8 until 2006 when the International Astronomical Union defined it as a dwarf planet after the discovery of Eris. The Earth is the only planet in our solar system where any form of life is possible. This is due to the favorable temperature that human body can adapt to, while abundance of Oxygen that is necessary for humans to breathe. The Earth is also called the Blue planet because the color of Water which is reflected back when it is viewed from the outer space. Unlike the Sun, and previously though so, the shape of the Earth is not a perfect sphere as it bulges at the Equator and is flat at the poles. The Earth revolves around the sun in approximately 365.25 days and on its own axis too in around 24 hours.